It’s Gonna Cost You Somethin’ – Focus on God.

Were (or are) any of you afraid to be judged as you begin getting serious about Christ? Did you think you’d lose any friends? Family even? This phrase has been sticking out to me since I heard it from Prophetess Cycelia at the conference. It’s both calming and nerve-wracking to know that my faith in God will ultimately cause me to lose something. I wish I would’ve heard this prior to my journey but that’s why I’m sharing with you!

When we decide to go forward in our walk with Christ, we’re definitely going to be experiencing some changes – both positive and negative – but ultimately, its for our good. Some may be hesitant, but that’s just you also experiencing what it’s like to lean on your faith. I’ll go over a few things you may lose while on your journey below, but as I’ve mentioned, it can only push you forward!

Friends

If they’re not positive influences, let them go. Sounds simple, but when you’re constantly hanging around the same people all the time, you build companionship and the desire to always be around them and what they’re doing. If you’re able to see that whatever you’re participating in with them will hinder your relationship with Christ, you should cut them off. No reason to bring *extra baggage into your walk. It might be hard at first because it’s your norm to accompany yourself with them, but you’ll feel the difference in your energy. Instead, begin to open yourself up to not only just showing up to church, but getting to know other young adults while you’re there, join a ministry, maybe find an organization on campus you can be a part of…something. You’ll want to fill those voids with people who are also seeking God so that you have a support system as well.

Habits

This may include going out to parties, listening to secular music, smoking, drinking, you name it #NoShirleyCaesar lol. If what you’re doing is not going to glorify God, let it go. This may be harder than letting a friend go because this is your go-to. Now, I’m not saying all you should be doing is reading your bible, listening to Kirk Franklin or Mary Mary, and staying inside because the world is full of temptation lol. I’m saying that there are indeed other ways to have fun! Being saved does not equate to boring. Those friends you made at church? Kick it with them. The organization you became a part of? Stay involved. Heck, even Facebook has events you can search for and find something to get into. Here in San Antonio, a new friend I’ve made, Josh, hosts this young adult gospel event called LightItUpSA to get us younger people out and exposed to both local and traveling artists, poets, lyricists, etc. who want to spread the gospel! It’s basically a praise party and it really is lit. There are ways to be happy in your walk, you just have to look a little bit in the beginning.

Drinking

Omg I know, this may hurt some feelings. Don’t worry, mine have been hurt too. I am no saint y’all. I love a good margarita or Long Island with some queso or guacamole during happy hour. However, if you were or are anything like I once was, you know you can go overboard. Sometimes this may happen in a spur-of-the-moment situation or if you’re out to eat, you keep drinking your drinks until your food comes. Either way, this too can be a hindrance. We all know that when we’ve consumed too much alcohol, we are not thinking clearly and possibly end up making irrational decisions or saying out-of-pocket things. Don’t let that continue to be you. Good thing for me, it wasn’t too hard because I had participated in the Daniel Fast this January, but for those that may have a bit of a harder time, ease yourself out of it. I can’t say go cold turkey because then you won’t be successful. But letting go of alcohol or having it once (in moderation) every blue moon will allow you to keep a sober mind and conscience as you continue your walk. I’m also not saying you just can’t have alcohol either; the Bible says not to get drunk with wine, not that you couldn’t have any BUT do so in moderation so that you don’t become wild or drunk. (Ephesians 5:18)

Yourself

You are your own comfort zone. What I’m learning now is that when the Lord has a purpose for you, you should be open to following it. I had a breakthrough this past Friday at a worship night hosted by my campus’ Voices In Praise Gospel Choir and in those moments, it was confirmed to me that I really need to discipline myself and get on one accord with God. I knew that everything I like doing that does not glorify God will need to cease. That for me is cutting all ties with people and things that are not allowing me to truly move forward in my walk. Everything has an expiration date, and when it comes to my faith, I know I have to surrender myself completely to do what God has called me to do and He’s wanting to do the same for you. Find the places within you that need correcting and give it to God. Pray to Him that He will heal whatever is causing you to stumble and that you’ll use your trials as your testimony.

There are possibly more that I’m missing, but this is what I’ve picked up thus far on my walk. It may differ from person to person, but the overall aspect is that no matter what…if you want to walk in righteousness with God, it’s gonna cost you somethin’.

I pray this does something for someone. Please like, comment, and share with family and friends! Be blessed!

 

*Extra baggage meaning you will have your own things to deal with in your walk so no need to bring anyone else’s.

3 thoughts on “It’s Gonna Cost You Somethin’ – Focus on God.

  1. Matthew Perri says:

    If you want to focus on God, you should know what is Most Important to HIM, in His own words. Jesus is God, and He told us – twice. Directly, specifically. Speaking in complete consecutive sentences. No, it’s not “Love” without God – that was the Beatles, Paul and other men…..

    Poem – What is love?

    Two men came to Jesus
    With different motivations.
    They asked Him the same question
    Relevant to all the nations:

    Which is the Most Important?
    The answer was the same.
    Jesus did not manipulate
    He was not there to play a game.

    “Love the Lord your God” said Jesus
    as He quoted from The Law –
    to fulfill and not abolish
    was His purpose, full of awe.

    Jesus did not make all Scripture
    Into one new great commandment.
    He summarized The Law and Prophets
    “First and Greatest” and “The Second.”

    The Love of God is higher
    Than the love of any man.
    Receive from God, give back to God-
    Then to others, that’s His plan.

    The Love of God involves much more
    Than simply “love your fellow man.”
    Worship, trust, and pray to God,
    and obey Him – that’s His plan

    To worship and pray to neighbors,
    Whoever they may be,
    Or trust and obey our enemies
    Would be idolatry.

    The love of God is first and greatest,
    And the love of man is second.
    “All we need is love” are words
    of dead Beetles on the pavement.

    “The entire law is summed up in a single command”
    are not the words of Jesus our Salvation.
    It’s false teaching of Paul the Pharisee
    an “accuser of our brethren.”

    “Love” without God is Satan’s word through Paul
    in his chapter to the Corinthians.
    “I will show you the most excellent way”
    is the road to eternal perdition.

    Where is God in Paul’s chapter on love?
    Nowhere in view of the eye.
    Paul sings about himself like a Mexican Mariachi
    “I, I, I, I.”

    Jesus is The Most Excellent Way
    Not the words of a Pharisee.
    The words of Jesus are very clear.
    Jesus said, “You must follow ME.”

    Like

      • Matthew Perri says:

        BRI360BLOG
        Thank you. You said “focus on God.
        Most nominal “Christians” are not doing that- rather, they are focusing on Paul and Paul’s false teaching, including “Love” without God, like the Beatles.

        Parable of the House Painters

        A homeowner called his friend, who was a painting contractor. “Friend, I want to hire you and your team to paint my house and my garage. Paint the house first, and I’ll stay in the garage until you’re done. Then when the paint is dry, I’ll move back into the house, and you can paint the garage.”

        The painting contractor hired a new foreman named Paul, and gave him the homeowner’s instructions. (Paul insisted that all the workers show respect for him by addressing him as “Boss Paul.”) Paul called the team of painters together and told them:
        “Boys, we need to paint this garage and house. The quicker we do it, the more profitable it is for us. So get to work! Since the garage is smaller, we can finish that quicker. Then those who finished the garage can go help the others finish the house.”

        One worker objected: “But Boss Paul, those were not the owner’s instructions! We are supposed to paint the house first. Only after the house is finished and the paint is dry can we go and paint the garage.”

        Paul replied: “I’m Boss, you work for me, and you do as I say. We are painters, and we paint. We don’t have time for debates about ‘which one is first’. We need to get to work applying that paint to the garage and house as quick as we can. Which owner would be upset if we finished early? The job is to paint the garage and house – what difference does it make ‘which one is first’”?

        “It makes a big difference to the owner,” the worker objected. To which Paul replied, “you’re fired.” Paul then took his team of painters, and started painting the garage and the house.

        When the homeowner returned in the evening, he was furious. He had nowhere to sleep, and had to go stay in a hotel for several days. The homeowner’s friend, the painting contractor, apologized, and explained:

        “I hired a new foreman named Paul, but that was a huge mistake. He ignored your instructions that I passed on to him. You don’t know him, and I’ve just barely met him.
        To be extremely polite, I could say that Paul ‘says some things which are difficult to understand.’ To be more direct, I could say Paul talks like an arrogant megalomaniac with a messiah complex, proclaiming; ‘I am not under the law’ but yet making up his own laws as he goes along, that everyone else has to obey. Paul said: ‘I became your father…. therefore I urge you to imitate me,’ and ‘I have become all things to all men.’ Paul thinks he’s Boss, and doesn’t need to listen to your instructions that I gave him.”

        In Matthew 22 and Mark 12, Jesus identified two commandments, saying one of them is the first and greatest most important one. Which one is it? The one in Deuteronomy 6:4-5, or the one in Leviticus 19:18 ?

        Like

Leave a Reply

