Passion and Purpose #JustDoIt

Ya know, I had intended on posting different content this week, but I really felt the need to share the importance of fulfilling God’s purpose.

We all have things that we love doing; whether it be reading, writing, singing, acting, dancing, pottery, public speaking…you name it. If it’s something you have a passion for, it was given to you for a reason. You love doing the things you do because it not only brings you happiness, but God sees so much purpose for you in it. We have these gifts and talents, but often times, we grow to hear that we should be more practical about what it is we need to be doing in adulthood and those gifts are pushed to the back burner. But why?! Something I can’t stress enough to young kids, is that whatever you LOVE doing, do it.

I’ve always had the passion to be in front of a camera or being on stage, whether it was performing or speaking to the audience. I love DIY projects and home goods, and I love sharing stories about what I’ve been through (or going through) and being able to inspire others. That is NOTHING like interior design – my current major – lol. I’ve tried sharing these thoughts with some friends, and the feedback I had been getting was that I need to just finish my major and go back to what I love doing later.

No sir, no ma’am.

So I took the plunge and decided I needed to focus on what I’m passionate about so I could live out God’s purpose in me. I mean, who are you living your life out for? Yourself and God? Or other people? Maybe you’re just afraid to fail? That thought is completely okay. How many successful people can you name that had it all figured out? There aren’t many, and everyone has to start from somewhere. If you’re hesitant about taking a leap of faith, ask yourself these questions:

1. Are you able to find happiness in what you’re currently doing?

2. Would you be able to tell someone with utmost honesty, that you’re truly satisfied with where you are?

3. Are you simply going with the flow? Or are you pursuing your purpose?

4. If you’re in college, would you be okay with paying off a degree you took out loans for and you’re not using it?

5. Do you still find your vision tangible?

Personally, #4 sealed the deal for me. There is no way I’m paying for a degree that I don’t intend on using. Even if you’re not in college, whatever your passion is, pursue it. Let God use you to not only be content with who you are, but to give Him glory. When you allow God to guide your path, I promise it only goes up from there. He wants to see us happy, and part of that is glorifying Him. Below is a scripture from my devotional this morning, 30 Days to Greater Faith via Holy Bible app, that touched on this directly. I pray it does something for you! Be blessed!

“For by grace you have been saved through faith, and that not of yourselves; it is the gift of God, not of works, lest anyone should boast. For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them.” Ephesians 2:8-10

Leave a Reply

