Seeking God Sooner

I don’t know about y’all, but often times I think about “What if I had sought out God sooner?” And surely enough I begin to think of all of the hurt and sin I could have avoided had I done so. But how does someone know to do that when there’s no guidance?

Before I dig too into this, I just want to clarify that my household growing up was (and still is) and godly-based household. I’ve always heard my mom talk about God and her prayers to Him. She had always made sure we prayed, would tell us some of His miracles she’s received with Him in her life, and to some extent, attended church regularly. But the church attendance didn’t last too long through adolescent days BUT we always still had the option to go; she would just drop us off.

As a kid though, I WANTED to go to church; I was always glad to be there. Not that I could fully grasp what my cousin (he was the Pastor at the church I went to) was saying, but I just knew the message was good. I was a praise dancer and usher, sometimes I’d volunteer to read the passage/scripture for the day, and wanted to attend church events. But again, as a kid, I didn’t want to do any of that by myself. My sisters didn’t care to go and like I said, my Mom would be open to dropping me off but not staying herself. What happened? I don’t know. Still a question that lingers in my mind today.

So back to this guidance thing. I find it to be very important that not only someone is being taught who God is, but also building that relationship with Him too. I truly feel that someone who knows the Lord should be actively investing in someone else who does not. I mean, people can learn who God is on their own, but what good does that do for the unbeliever/unsaved who has a hard time understanding? Or what about someone who reads the bible but is messing up the contents? Even to the extent of hearing someone talk about how they know God but sometimes their actions don’t align with His Word? That’s how we find ourselves taking part in various sins and hurting – physically, emotionally, mentally, and most importantly, spiritually.

At my home church a few weeks ago, Rev. Mays (Mt. Sinai Church in Austin, TX) was preaching that not only do we, as disciples, get people to know who God is, but we have to continue “training up” the people we bring to Christ so that the relationship blossoms and then they too, may bring others to Christ. I fully agree with this. Too often people are brought to Christ and then left to continue seeking Him on their own. Failure #1. That’s another reason of many, why I have this blog. I do encompass other aspects in my blog, but the most essential part of my purpose is to get people to see who Christ is, share personal testimonies, provide tools that continue to lead you all individually, and build up a community that has their questions and we can all exchange answers.

Had I been able to be more invested in God prior to 2016, man oh man…I think I’d be in a better place with who I am. Not to say that I’m not now because I do take into consideration that I had I not gone through what I have thus far, I probably wouldn’t appreciate my relationship with Him to the extent that I do. I’ve grown to know that God’s plan and purpose for me was crafted JUST FOR ME. At this point, I have to continue to grow and be intentional about knowing God’s Word. You should as well. One thing I can’t stress enough to friends and family is that there is no set “time” you can get to know the Lord. That invitation is open at any given moment. It doesn’t have to be at church; it can be at your school, in your bedroom, walking down the street, riding the bus, you name it! In the same moment though, you never know when the Lord will decide that your time on earth is up. Always remember that the next year, month, week, day, or hour is not promised to any of us. We are not privileged to wake up everyday. It is blessing.

Take time to get to know God. If you have questions, you are more than welcome to e-mail me or comment below. It can be about anything! I just want to make sure I’m pouring into someone else spiritually. Now, I am not the Word of God so I can’t answer some stuff to a point, but we can seek and find the answers together! I pray this does something for someone. Be blessed everyone!

“Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all things that I have commanded you; and know that I am with you always, even to the end of age. Amen.” – Matthew 28:19-20 NKJV

Leave a Reply

